Book Review: “The Left-Handed Booksellers of London,” by Garth Nix

I was so so pleased to finally bang down my ARC pile and get to read The Left-Handed Booksellers of London. Garth Nix played a massive part in my life as a middle grade and YA reader - his Abhorsen series brought me life. I even got to write about it for my senior thesis … Continue reading Book Review: “The Left-Handed Booksellers of London,” by Garth Nix

Book Review: Deanna Raybourn’s “A Dangerous Collaboration”

For those of you who have seen this blog before, you may know of my obsession with this series. I recently (too recently) posted my review of the last book, A Treacherous Curse, and before had reviewed the first book here. That being said, it took me a little while to process this book before reviewing it, because … Continue reading Book Review: Deanna Raybourn’s “A Dangerous Collaboration”

Deanna Raybourn’s “A Treacherous Curse” – lucky number 3.

I received A Treacherous Curse from Penguin's First to Read program ages ago, and slacked on writing a review about it because so much went on and law school got horribly in the way. Suffice to say, I am obsessed with this series. Before I had this blog, I had the pleasure of reviewing the … Continue reading Deanna Raybourn’s “A Treacherous Curse” – lucky number 3.

Sarah Maine’s “The House Between Tides-” Scottish tour de force

From Netgalley: "Fans of Kate Morton will love this atmospheric and immersive debut novel of a woman who returns to her ancestral home in Scotland and discovers a century-old secret buried in the basement."

Ilona Andrews’ “Magic Binds”- out September 20th!

Thank you, Netgalley for sending me the book of my dreams! (And by dreams, I mean my favorite series ever- and I get to review it- what is life?) In Magic Binds, Kate has come a long way since we first met her, eking out a crappy living as a mercenary and reluctantly heeding the … Continue reading Ilona Andrews’ “Magic Binds”- out September 20th!

Forrest Leo’s “The Gentleman”- Not gentlemanly, thank god.

What a riot! I received this as an ARC from Penguin's First to Read program, and I am so glad I did. For fans of Terry Pratchett, Monty Python, and the greats of dry British humor, this is the book for you. Thank you, Forrest Leo! Our hero (thought not really) of The Gentleman, Lionel Savage … Continue reading Forrest Leo’s “The Gentleman”- Not gentlemanly, thank god.

Anthony Ryan’s “The Waking Fire:” release date July 5th

Full disclosure: I received this ARC from Penguin's First to Read program in exchange for an honest review. This is also my first Anthony Ryan book, so my viewpoint may be less biased, if less informed. The Waking Fire, first in the new Draconis Memoria series, had basically everything I want out of a high fantasy epic. … Continue reading Anthony Ryan’s “The Waking Fire:” release date July 5th

Favorite Friday- The Redemption of Althalus by David and Leigh Eddings

Happy Friday, everyone! I have decided to try and keep this up, for my own sanity mostly. This week's Favorite Friday choice is David and Leigh Eddings' The Redemption of Althalus, which was my all-time favorite book for quite a long time in my teenage years. This is also in part of my belated sadness in … Continue reading Favorite Friday- The Redemption of Althalus by David and Leigh Eddings

Series Review: Barb Hendee’s Mist-Torn Witches

  I have to admit, I have been riding the urban fantasy train a lot more recently. My favorites include Ilona Andrews, Patricia Briggs, and Jim Butcher, to name a few. But I grew up on old time Sword and Sorcerer-esque fantasies, and when I find a good series that stays relevant and fresh, I … Continue reading Series Review: Barb Hendee’s Mist-Torn Witches

Favorite Friday- Ilona Andrews’ “On the Edge” series

I've decided to try something new and feature some of my favorite books or series every Friday, not necessarily new reads but something I'm still excited about to this day. So this Friday, I've chosen a series by one of my favorite author duos, Ilona Andrews. This husband and wife author team pumps out amazing urban … Continue reading Favorite Friday- Ilona Andrews’ “On the Edge” series