Review: “A Thousand Salt Kisses” by Josie Demuth

To preface, I received A Thousand Salt Kisses by Josie Demuth as a Netgalley ARC in exchange for an honest review. I was torn between a two star or three star rating for this because the story did have good bones and an intriguing plot, but the characterization and writing were just not up to snuff. Mermen, island … Continue reading Review: “A Thousand Salt Kisses” by Josie Demuth

Book Traveling Thursdays- Non-Fiction Edition

Hello all, and welcome to Book Traveling Thursdays! This fun weekly challenge is based on Goodreads as a group posting, hosted by Catia and Danielle. What I love about this challenge is that it’s quick, it’s fun, and it gets you looking thinking about other country’s values when you compare their covers to your own, which is fun … Continue reading Book Traveling Thursdays- Non-Fiction Edition

Book Traveling Thursdays-National Book Lovers Edition

  Hello all, and welcome to Book Traveling Thursdays! This fun weekly challenge is based on Goodreads as a group posting, hosted by Catia and Danielle. What I love about this challenge is that it's quick, it's fun, and it gets you looking thinking about other country's values when you compare their covers to your own, which … Continue reading Book Traveling Thursdays-National Book Lovers Edition

WWW Wednesday

The WWW Wednesdays meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words and is a great way to do a weekly update on what you’ve been reading and what you have planned. To take part all you have to do is answer the following three questions: What are you currently reading? … Continue reading WWW Wednesday

Out Today!! The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living by Louise Miller

Thank you, Penguin's First to Read, for this pretty little read! The City Baker's Guide to Country Living by Louise Miller is a debut novel, and Louise Miller is a pastry chef herself so this is a real treat (pun intended). Enter Olivia, 30-year-old pastry chef extraordinaire who flambées her way out of a job when she accidentally … Continue reading Out Today!! The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living by Louise Miller

Book Traveling Thursdays: Lazy Day Reading

Hello, August! When did this happen? I am sad to see July leave, since August is a crazy month for me! However, it is also a fresh start, so I have to be grateful for that. As such, I am going to try and keep up better with my favorite challenges and themes, hence Book … Continue reading Book Traveling Thursdays: Lazy Day Reading

Ilona Andrews’ “Magic Binds”- out September 20th!

Thank you, Netgalley for sending me the book of my dreams! (And by dreams, I mean my favorite series ever- and I get to review it- what is life?) In Magic Binds, Kate has come a long way since we first met her, eking out a crappy living as a mercenary and reluctantly heeding the … Continue reading Ilona Andrews’ “Magic Binds”- out September 20th!

Adara Quick’s “Dream Protocol”: Dystopia for kids

This was a quick and fun read that I received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Quick's Dream Protocol takes place in a dystopian society within an underground facility on Skellig Island a couple hundred years in the future. The premise is that this society originated as a dream resort, where people used to go … Continue reading Adara Quick’s “Dream Protocol”: Dystopia for kids

Forrest Leo’s “The Gentleman”- Not gentlemanly, thank god.

What a riot! I received this as an ARC from Penguin's First to Read program, and I am so glad I did. For fans of Terry Pratchett, Monty Python, and the greats of dry British humor, this is the book for you. Thank you, Forrest Leo! Our hero (thought not really) of The Gentleman, Lionel Savage … Continue reading Forrest Leo’s “The Gentleman”- Not gentlemanly, thank god.

My Current TBR (And a plea for recommendations)

I have accidentally swamped myself with books that need to be read (what else is new?) while I have too much going on to devote to it. Currently, from First To Read, I have these ARCS in my TBR: Emily Griffin's First Comes Love, which is about two sisters years after the tragic death of their … Continue reading My Current TBR (And a plea for recommendations)