Book Review: “The Left-Handed Booksellers of London,” by Garth Nix

I was so so pleased to finally bang down my ARC pile and get to read The Left-Handed Booksellers of London. Garth Nix played a massive part in my life as a middle grade and YA reader - his Abhorsen series brought me life. I even got to write about it for my senior thesis … Continue reading Book Review: “The Left-Handed Booksellers of London,” by Garth Nix

Book Review: “The Guest List,” by Lucy Foley

Happy Friday! Man, it feels good to say that. What a week. However, the one awesome thing about this week was getting a copy of The Guest List in the mail from my secondhand book online shop, Better World Books, which donates a book to an underprivileged community every time you buy a book, and has … Continue reading Book Review: “The Guest List,” by Lucy Foley

ARC Review: “A Wolf for a Spell,” by Karah Sutton

I was so excited to receive this ARC from Netgalley and Random House Children's because it has so many things that I love: Russian mythology, an animal narrator, and a spooky forest. One of my favorite ARCS I've ever gotten from Netgalley was Bear and the Nightingale, a YA historical fantasy based in Russia. A Wolf for … Continue reading ARC Review: “A Wolf for a Spell,” by Karah Sutton

Book Review: “The Stolen Letter,” by Paige Shelton

Happy hump day! I went back to cozy mysteries this week, specifically because I have had Paige Shelton's newest Scottish Bookshop Mystery for ages and I needed to read it! The Stolen Letter breathed life back into this series, and I am so excited to review it! From the Publisher: Delaney Nichols is confident she’s doing what she … Continue reading Book Review: “The Stolen Letter,” by Paige Shelton

ARC Review: “A Death Long Overdue,” by Eva Gates

Hello all and happy Friday! I am so excited to review Eva Gates' new book A Death Long Overdue from her Lighthouse Library series, because this cozy has it all: A lighthouse. In a library. On a beach, with a plucky librarian for a heroine. How do we beat that?! I have been a pretty devoted … Continue reading ARC Review: “A Death Long Overdue,” by Eva Gates

Anne Bishop’s new book for The Others series, “Etched in Bone,” out March 7!

Thank you, Netgalley and Roc, for an ARC for one of my favorite series, The Others! I am so excited to review this, and have already pre-ordered my hard copy. "Just a game. Simon thought we'd had great fun. Bet the other wolves did too." "And you?" Monty said. "We look at the same things, … Continue reading Anne Bishop’s new book for The Others series, “Etched in Bone,” out March 7!

Review: “A Witch’s Kitchen” by Dianna Sanchez

Book review for "A Witch's Kitchen" by Dianna Sanchez.

Ilona Andrews’ “Magic Binds”- out September 20th!

Thank you, Netgalley for sending me the book of my dreams! (And by dreams, I mean my favorite series ever- and I get to review it- what is life?) In Magic Binds, Kate has come a long way since we first met her, eking out a crappy living as a mercenary and reluctantly heeding the … Continue reading Ilona Andrews’ “Magic Binds”- out September 20th!

Book Traveling Thursdays

So, I have been in a bit of a book rut- Currently in the middle of three books, close to finishing none- so I decided to check out different Thursday memes, and came across a fun one through this Goodreads Group. The meme is called Book Traveling Thursdays, and basically there is a different theme each … Continue reading Book Traveling Thursdays

Forrest Leo’s “The Gentleman”- Not gentlemanly, thank god.

What a riot! I received this as an ARC from Penguin's First to Read program, and I am so glad I did. For fans of Terry Pratchett, Monty Python, and the greats of dry British humor, this is the book for you. Thank you, Forrest Leo! Our hero (thought not really) of The Gentleman, Lionel Savage … Continue reading Forrest Leo’s “The Gentleman”- Not gentlemanly, thank god.