WWW Wednesday

The WWW Wednesdays meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words and is a great way to do a weekly update on what you’ve been reading and what you have planned. To take part all you have to do is answer the following three questions: What are you currently reading? … Continue reading WWW Wednesday

Out Today!! The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living by Louise Miller

Thank you, Penguin's First to Read, for this pretty little read! The City Baker's Guide to Country Living by Louise Miller is a debut novel, and Louise Miller is a pastry chef herself so this is a real treat (pun intended). Enter Olivia, 30-year-old pastry chef extraordinaire who flambées her way out of a job when she accidentally … Continue reading Out Today!! The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living by Louise Miller

Forrest Leo’s “The Gentleman”- Not gentlemanly, thank god.

What a riot! I received this as an ARC from Penguin's First to Read program, and I am so glad I did. For fans of Terry Pratchett, Monty Python, and the greats of dry British humor, this is the book for you. Thank you, Forrest Leo! Our hero (thought not really) of The Gentleman, Lionel Savage … Continue reading Forrest Leo’s “The Gentleman”- Not gentlemanly, thank god.

My Current TBR (And a plea for recommendations)

I have accidentally swamped myself with books that need to be read (what else is new?) while I have too much going on to devote to it. Currently, from First To Read, I have these ARCS in my TBR: Emily Griffin's First Comes Love, which is about two sisters years after the tragic death of their … Continue reading My Current TBR (And a plea for recommendations)

Jonathan Unleashed, by Meg Rosoff- Out now!

Publish date: July 5

Anthony Ryan’s “The Waking Fire:” release date July 5th

Full disclosure: I received this ARC from Penguin's First to Read program in exchange for an honest review. This is also my first Anthony Ryan book, so my viewpoint may be less biased, if less informed. The Waking Fire, first in the new Draconis Memoria series, had basically everything I want out of a high fantasy epic. … Continue reading Anthony Ryan’s “The Waking Fire:” release date July 5th

“Last Days of Magic” or, why we shouldn’t buy books for their covers.

Last Days of Magic is a fantastic epic of that acts like a factual telling of how magic left the world. (Personally, I'd like to believe it to be true. you may say I'm a dreamer...) It tells the story of the Sidhe, who are the magical beings descended from Nephilim, and their interaction with … Continue reading “Last Days of Magic” or, why we shouldn’t buy books for their covers.

Green Island: A Novel- Not your every day beach read

First of all, I'd like to thank Penguin's First to Read for this advance reader copy. Next, whoa. Shawna Yang Ryan's Green Island is a trip and a half, especially for someone not used to historical fiction. The story follows an unnamed narrator, born on the same day as the February 28th riot in Taiwan, … Continue reading Green Island: A Novel- Not your every day beach read

Rachel Mead’s “Soundless”-The Art of Silence

I received this advanced copy from Penguin's First to Read and could not be happier. Soundless follows the story of a young woman named Fei Jing who works as an artist in an alternative universe where an Asian mountain community is all deaf. This community must rely on the towns down from them for food, … Continue reading Rachel Mead’s “Soundless”-The Art of Silence