WWW Wednesday – September 23, 2020

Happy Thursday! I am a full day late, huzzah! However, I simply love doing the WWW Wednesday Challenge, so take that, linear days of the week! The WWW Wednesday meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words, and is a great way to do a weekly update on what you’ve been reading … Continue reading WWW Wednesday – September 23, 2020

ARC Review: “The Gentleman and the Thief,” by Sarah Eden

Hello, all! I am thrilled to have gotten the chance to review Sarah Eden's new book The Gentleman and the Thief, second in the Proper Romance Victorian series. I reviewed the first book, Lady and the Highwayman, back in April and can honestly most of my (minor) issues with the first book have been resolved in this one. … Continue reading ARC Review: “The Gentleman and the Thief,” by Sarah Eden

Book Review: “City of Girls” by Elizabeth Gilbert

Hi all! I have to admit, this review is super overdue. My book club (shameless book club plug) finished this book weeks ago, and I forgot to give City of Girls the review it is due. Even though I haven't seen my book club ladies in a while, (with NYC trying to reopen the restaurants and services … Continue reading Book Review: “City of Girls” by Elizabeth Gilbert

ARC Review: Kim Richardson’s “The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek”

Disclaimer: I received this ARC from Netgalley and the publisher, Sourcebooks. This book is coming out on May 7, 2019, in a trade paperback. Order your copy here! The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek begins in 1936, in deep woods, high mountains Kentucky, and follows 19-year-old Cussy Carter, the last blue-skinned girl. Called "Bluet" and often reviled … Continue reading ARC Review: Kim Richardson’s “The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek”

Book Review: Deanna Raybourn’s “A Dangerous Collaboration”

For those of you who have seen this blog before, you may know of my obsession with this series. I recently (too recently) posted my review of the last book, A Treacherous Curse, and before had reviewed the first book here. That being said, it took me a little while to process this book before reviewing it, because … Continue reading Book Review: Deanna Raybourn’s “A Dangerous Collaboration”

Deanna Raybourn’s “A Treacherous Curse” – lucky number 3.

I received A Treacherous Curse from Penguin's First to Read program ages ago, and slacked on writing a review about it because so much went on and law school got horribly in the way. Suffice to say, I am obsessed with this series. Before I had this blog, I had the pleasure of reviewing the … Continue reading Deanna Raybourn’s “A Treacherous Curse” – lucky number 3.

ARC Review: “The Address” by Fiona Davis

Disclaimer: I received this ARC from Penguin's First to Read program in exchange for a fair and honest review. This book comes out August 1st, and I suggest you preorder your copy now! Disclaimer two: This is my first Fiona Davis novel, and I have to say, I really enjoyed it! The Address by Fiona … Continue reading ARC Review: “The Address” by Fiona Davis

Sarah Maine’s “The House Between Tides-” Scottish tour de force

From Netgalley: "Fans of Kate Morton will love this atmospheric and immersive debut novel of a woman who returns to her ancestral home in Scotland and discovers a century-old secret buried in the basement."

Forrest Leo’s “The Gentleman”- Not gentlemanly, thank god.

What a riot! I received this as an ARC from Penguin's First to Read program, and I am so glad I did. For fans of Terry Pratchett, Monty Python, and the greats of dry British humor, this is the book for you. Thank you, Forrest Leo! Our hero (thought not really) of The Gentleman, Lionel Savage … Continue reading Forrest Leo’s “The Gentleman”- Not gentlemanly, thank god.

Green Island: A Novel- Not your every day beach read

First of all, I'd like to thank Penguin's First to Read for this advance reader copy. Next, whoa. Shawna Yang Ryan's Green Island is a trip and a half, especially for someone not used to historical fiction. The story follows an unnamed narrator, born on the same day as the February 28th riot in Taiwan, … Continue reading Green Island: A Novel- Not your every day beach read