Anne Bishop’s new book for The Others series, “Etched in Bone,” out March 7!

Thank you, Netgalley and Roc, for an ARC for one of my favorite series, The Others! I am so excited to review this, and have already pre-ordered my hard copy. "Just a game. Simon thought we'd had great fun. Bet the other wolves did too." "And you?" Monty said. "We look at the same things, … Continue reading Anne Bishop’s new book for The Others series, “Etched in Bone,” out March 7!

Out Today!! The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living by Louise Miller

Thank you, Penguin's First to Read, for this pretty little read! The City Baker's Guide to Country Living by Louise Miller is a debut novel, and Louise Miller is a pastry chef herself so this is a real treat (pun intended). Enter Olivia, 30-year-old pastry chef extraordinaire who flambées her way out of a job when she accidentally … Continue reading Out Today!! The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living by Louise Miller

Ilona Andrews’ “Magic Binds”- out September 20th!

Thank you, Netgalley for sending me the book of my dreams! (And by dreams, I mean my favorite series ever- and I get to review it- what is life?) In Magic Binds, Kate has come a long way since we first met her, eking out a crappy living as a mercenary and reluctantly heeding the … Continue reading Ilona Andrews’ “Magic Binds”- out September 20th!

Forrest Leo’s “The Gentleman”- Not gentlemanly, thank god.

What a riot! I received this as an ARC from Penguin's First to Read program, and I am so glad I did. For fans of Terry Pratchett, Monty Python, and the greats of dry British humor, this is the book for you. Thank you, Forrest Leo! Our hero (thought not really) of The Gentleman, Lionel Savage … Continue reading Forrest Leo’s “The Gentleman”- Not gentlemanly, thank god.

My Current TBR (And a plea for recommendations)

I have accidentally swamped myself with books that need to be read (what else is new?) while I have too much going on to devote to it. Currently, from First To Read, I have these ARCS in my TBR: Emily Griffin's First Comes Love, which is about two sisters years after the tragic death of their … Continue reading My Current TBR (And a plea for recommendations)

Anthony Ryan’s “The Waking Fire:” release date July 5th

Full disclosure: I received this ARC from Penguin's First to Read program in exchange for an honest review. This is also my first Anthony Ryan book, so my viewpoint may be less biased, if less informed. The Waking Fire, first in the new Draconis Memoria series, had basically everything I want out of a high fantasy epic. … Continue reading Anthony Ryan’s “The Waking Fire:” release date July 5th

Laure Dugas’s Champagne Baby: Part Coming of age tale, part love affair with wine

First of all, a big thank you to Penguin's First to Read Program for this beautiful memoir. Champagne Baby tells the story of 22-years-old Laure Dugas as she navigates a world of wine that she was born into, but denied up until now. Laure was always one to beat to her own drummer, but when … Continue reading Laure Dugas’s Champagne Baby: Part Coming of age tale, part love affair with wine

WWW Wednesday (on Thursday because I’m on Island Time)

This is my second week trying this out, and I must say it is fun! This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. All of my covers link to Goodreads! Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that … Continue reading WWW Wednesday (on Thursday because I’m on Island Time)

Update: Sylvain Neuvel’s “Sleeping Giants” is now out!

For those that don't know, I received a copy of Sleeping Giants for review back in November and was 100% obsessed with it! You can read my review here, but in the meantime here is a tl/dr version of my review. Neuvel's debut novel is a science fiction tour de force, complete with robots, mysterious government … Continue reading Update: Sylvain Neuvel’s “Sleeping Giants” is now out!

Green Island: A Novel- Not your every day beach read

First of all, I'd like to thank Penguin's First to Read for this advance reader copy. Next, whoa. Shawna Yang Ryan's Green Island is a trip and a half, especially for someone not used to historical fiction. The story follows an unnamed narrator, born on the same day as the February 28th riot in Taiwan, … Continue reading Green Island: A Novel- Not your every day beach read